Question on the use of Prismatic Diffuser Panels on lighting

BirdieNumNum

This premium LED Veg light uses a prismatic diffuser

"The diffused borosilicate glass lense scatters the light over the grow area ensuring uniformity (no hot spots) and penetration into the plant canopy. "

Par-Map-Chart-C_MIGRO-veg-par-map-1024x427.png

This article The Ultimate Lighting Guide for Cannabis Cultivation says "Seedlings, clones, and mother plants can be successful with just 200 to 400 μmol∙m-2∙s-1 PPFD. For plants in the vegetative growth phase of cannabis 400 to 600 μmol∙m-2∙s-1 PPFD can be sufficient" so presumably this light is aimed at seedlings/early veg.

I wonder if anyone uses a diffuse to reduce hot spots and diffuse the light from a COB during veg stage to reduce hot spots.

I have made one from an acrylic prismatic panel which I hang off my cob heatsink for early veg but I am a noob grower

Use of a dimmer switch achieves something different - and I presume people increase light intensity as veg stage progresses.

I don't use a diffuser. My COBs are adjustable, up to 65W, and are on a 30cm / 12" grid. The eight COBs cover a 2' X 4' canopy.

full

Eight COB Light for a 2' X 4' (60cm X 120cm) Tent

Nice, even, and powerful, Old Salt :thumb:.

With a diffuser, fresnel lens, or any kind of lens, I'd try to get some kind of high quality optic (glass) product instead of plastic. You want as near to 100% of the amount of light coming out the bottom of the thing as went in that you can get, because you're paying for 100% of it on your electric bill each month, either way.

Nice, even, and powerful, Old Salt:thumb:.

With a diffuser, fresnel lens, or any kind of lens, I'd try to get some kind of high quality optic (glass) product instead of plastic. You want as near to 100% of the amount of light coming out the bottom of the thing as went in that you can get, because you're paying for 100% of it on your electric bill each month, either way.